A Fine Spring Morning

Item# : CAP 981
All or Nothing at All; There'll Be Another Spring; Whatever Lola Wants; Get out of Town; I Like the Sunrise; Relax; Don't Ever Leave Me; Can't Help Singing; Love Look Away
On her third CD A Fine Spring Morning  Jody Sandhaus again explores the work of some of our great songwriters, but with a look at some of their lesser known and seldom-mined compositions. Noted for clear interpretations eschewing artifice, Jody brings her trademark clarity and sheen to each selection here, whether Steve Allen's “Picnic”, Matt Dennis’ “Relax” or the title track, Bob Haymes’ “A Fine Spring Morning.”
With arrangements by the date’s pianist Pete Malinverni and added support from bassist Todd Coolman and drummer Leroy Williams, A Fine Spring Morning was warmly and faithfully recorded at the studios of the venerable Rudy Van Gelder. The sound is unassailable and we hear clearly the passion and honesty of Sandhaus as she meets each selection with her own life story. The intersection is where we are welcomed in.
Sandhaus invites us to remember and feel along with her those universally human themes of youthful fancy, the yearning for love and the time-honored confrontation between optimism and what the world calls “reality”. With a Proustian touch, she calls to mind in an evanescent way our myriad and uncommon emotions associated with common events, like watching a sunrise “I Like the Sunrise”, (from Duke Ellington’s “Liberian Suite”) or regret at love’s passing but with a confident eye toward its eventual and sure rebirth in Peggy Lee’s “There’ll be Another Spring.”
  With the release of A Fine Spring Morning, Sandhaus continues to stake her claim as a singer who can express and facilitate our renewal in these singular times.
Leroy Williams Drums
Todd Coolman Bass
Pete Malinverni Piano